Skip To Content

Athabasca University


8.1 The Governors of Athabasca University

Public members of the Governors are appointed under orders-in-council of the Lieutenant Governor of Alberta.

Appointed Public Members

  • Nancy Laird (Board Chair)
  • Bryan Berg (Vice Chair)
  • Sharon Anderson
  • Rob Balay
  • Lynn Hamilton Q.C.
  • McDonald Madamombe
  • Tracey Maguire
  • Shannon Neighbour
  • Larry Spagnolo

Executive Officer

  • Neil Fassina, President, Athabasca University

Undergraduate Student Members

  • Natasha Donahue
  • Monique Durette

Graduate Student Member

  • Mary-Anne Parker

Tutor Member

  • Liam Connelly

Academic Staff Members

  • Shawn Fraser
  • Derek Briton


Information effective Sept. 1, 2020 to Aug. 31, 2021.

Updated August 28 2020 by laurab

AU, CANADA'S OPEN UNIVERSITY, is an internationally recognized leader in online and distance learning.