Skip To Content

Athabasca University

Post-Baccalaureate Diploma in Architecture (PBDA)

Athabasca University and Architecture Canada, Royal Architecture Institute of Canada (RAIC), have formed a partnership dedicated to offering high quality online architectural education. Canada's first online architecture program is a component of the RAIC Syllabus program renewal and is an alternate path to professional licensure as an architect in Canada. The RAIC Syllabus consists of studio, work experience, and academic components taken while working under the supervision of a licensed Canadian architect.

The academic components of the Syllabus program are shared between first, a Bachelor of Science in Architecture (BSc Arch) and second, a Post-Baccalaureate Diploma in Architecture (PBDA). Together, the studio and work experience (offered by RAIC) and the academic components (offered by Athabasca University) fulfill the requirements of the RAIC Syllabus Professional Diploma in Architecture.

The graduate-level Post-Baccalaureate Diploma in Architecture (PBDA) explores advances in sustainable environmental design and urban theory as well as management theory and practice. This program is primarily intended as preparation for entry to the profession of architecture but is also beneficial for other careers in the field; public and private careers in urban and construction planning, management, sustainability, and design; and studies in the built environment. Graduates will be able to continue their studies through graduate programs in Management, Arts, Planning, Design, Resource Management, Landscape Design, and Architecture.

Students must complete the PBDA program within five years.


Program Website


Information effective September 1, 2016 to August 31, 2017.

Updated June 20 2016 by laurab

AU, CANADA'S OPEN UNIVERSITY, is an internationally recognized leader in online and distance learning.