Skip To Content

Athabasca University


9.1 The Governors of Athabasca University

Public members of the Governors are appointed under orders-in-council of the Lieutenant Governor of Alberta.

Appointed Public Members

  • Vivian Manasc (Board Chair)
  • Margaret Mrazek (Vice Chair)
  • Robert Balay
  • Rai Batra
  • Heather Kennedy
  • Peter Thiveos
  • Lynn Hamilton
  • Cheryl Hunter Loewen
  • McDonald Madamombe
  • Debby Kronewitt Martin
  • Chief Charles Weaselhead

Executive Officer

  • Neil Fassina, President, Athabasca University

Alumnus Member

  • Douglas Schindel

Undergraduate Student Members

  • Shawna Wasylyshyn
  • Julian Teterenko

Graduate Student Member

  • Teagan Gahler

Tutor Member

  • Grant Grams

Academic Staff Members

  • Derek Briton
  • Michael Mauws

Non-Academic Staff Members

  • Paulette Patry


Information effective Sept. 1, 2016 to Aug. 31, 2017.

Updated March 30 2017 by laurab

AU, CANADA'S OPEN UNIVERSITY, is an internationally recognized leader in online and distance learning.