Return to Section 11 Index
  Regulations effective September 1, 2009  
1. Membership


The Student Academic Appeals Committee (Committee) comprises the following members:


members elected by Athabasca University Academic Council (AUAC)

• Registrar (Chair)
• three academic staff members elected by AUAC from
   undergraduate programs
• two academic staff members elected by AUAC from
   graduate programs
• one undergraduate student representative
• one graduate student representative.


The Registrar or designate shall be an ex officio member of the Committee, and shall serve as its Chair.

1.2 Committee members elected by Academic Council shall hold office for a term of two years (except for Registrar, which is ex officio). Members elected by Academic Council shall have their terms staggered at one-year intervals.

1.3 The quorum for committee deliberations shall be five (5) members, one of whom shall be the Chair. If the committee is obliged to consider an appeal at a time when a quorum from the regular committee membership is not possible, the Chair shall obtain alternative representatives from the various bodies sufficient to ensure a quorum. The alternative representatives selected in the above manner shall serve only until a quorum of elected members can be obtained.

1.4 The undergraduate student representative will be nominated by Athabasca University Student's Association.

1.5 The graduate student representative will be nominated by the Graduate Students' Association Advisory Committee.
2. Consultation


The University shall consult with staff, faculty or any other person considered appropriate in the process of reviewing an academic appeal application. 


Site Map
About Athabasca
Admissions and
   Academic Regulations

Fees, Financial
Examinations and Grades
Student Services
Student Code of
   Conduct and Right
   to Appeal Regulations

Academic Awards

Registration Services
Important Dates
Contact AU


View Policy Index

 • Information effective Sept. 1, 2009 to Aug. 31, 2010.
 • Links: Web Unit, Privacy & Conditions. © Athabasca University.

next page...
go to Calendar Homepage go to University Homepage